top of page

Heart Chakra ~ Searching for Love

The fourth chakra is at the center of the seven chakras with three below and three above. This is the area where physical and spiritual meet. The fourth chakra, also referred to as the heart chakra, is located at the center of the chest and includes the heart, cardiac plexus, thymus gland, lungs, and breasts. It also rules the lymphatic system. The Sanskrit word for the fourth chakra is Anahata, which means “unstruck” or “unhurt.” The name implies that beneath the hurts and grievances of past experiences lies a pure and spiritual place where no hurt exists.

When your heart chakra is open, you are flowing with love, warmth and compassion, you are quick to forgive, and you accept others and yourself. A closed heart chakra can give way to grief, anger, jealousy, fear of betrayal, and hatred toward yourself and others.

What roles does this chakra play in our lives

The Heart chakra is associated with the following psychological and behavioral characteristics:

  • Capacity to love

  • Integration, bridge between earthly and spiritual aspirations

  • Transcending personal identity and limitations of the ego

  • Experience of unconditional love and connection with all

  • Heart-centered discernment

  • Appreciation of beauty in all things

  • Experiencing deep and meaningful relationships

The fourth chakra connects the lower and upper chakras. In other words, the heart chakra acts as a center of integration of earthly matters and higher aspirations. Far from seeing these energies as separate, the experience of the heart integrates them effortlessly and harmoniously.

The Heart chakra is all about connecting and relating. The emphasis here is on love, giving and receiving, and how open we are in relationships. Love is the energy that helps transfigure emotions and experiences. It’s an essential element in any relationship, whether it’s is with others or oneself.

Love experienced through the fourth chakra is not just about romance, but about going beyond the limitations of the ego and personal preoccupations to open up more fully to compassion and acceptance of all that is, as it is. When we live from our heart and our heart energy is opened and balanced, we can see clearly and position ourselves in any situation, no matter how challenging it is.

The heart chakra is also a center through which we experience beauty in life. Seeing the world through a balanced fourth chakra is being in a state of openness and acceptance that brings us in touch with our world and ourselves in profound and fulfilling ways.


Even though most of us think about the pink color when thinking about the heart, this chakra is traditionally associated with the color green.

The color green symbolizes health, prosperity and abundance. Green is the color of nature and health. It represents growth, nature, money, fertility and safety. The color green is a relaxing color that is pleasing to the eye and is said to have healing powers. It is often used to represent anything that has to do with health.


The fourth chakra is related to the element of air. As such, its energy is associated to the breath and its movements, as well as the idea of spaciousness and connection with all things.

Signs your chakra may be out of balance

The heart chakra can become imbalanced as a result of life experiences that have a strong emotional charge, physical aillments, or significant changes in your environment. It may manifests as a blockage in the energy flow or, on the contrary, a tendency to become overactive or have an excess of energy.

You can see the following signs of imbalance in the heart chakra :

  • Being overly defensive

  • Feeling closed down

  • Jealousy; fear of intimacy

  • Codependency, relying on other’s approval and attention, trying to please at all cost

  • Always putting oneself in the role of the savior or the rescuer; or on the contrary, falling into victimization

  • Excessive isolation, being recluse, antisocial

  • Holding grudges, not being to forgive


The heart chakra directly affects the heart, lungs, chest, arms, and hands. When misaligned, poor circulation, high or low blood pressure and other heart and lung conditions can result. Mentally An imbalanced heart chakra can result in problematic issues, such as co-dependence, manipulative behaviors, feeling of unworthiness, and an inability to trust yourself or others.

Heart Chakra Mediation

I listen to my heart and honor its connection to the hearts of others.

I allow love to fill me up and guide me in all of my actions. I gracefully move to the rhythm of life.

Open yourself to love with divine scents?

Ananda Aromamist has designed this heavenly scented aromatherapy mist infused with essential oils, blended to assist with opening your heart, to flowing with love, kindness & compassion, you will be quick to forgive and accept others and yourself.

Essential oils are an easy, subtle way to open your heart chakra. They can be worn as perfume, sprayed over the head or used in oil diffusers. Even a few drops in a hot bath can provide a relaxing location for matters of the heart.

Our fourth chakra relates to love, compassion and healing, and healthy functioning leads to the capacity to love and be loved, to feel compassion, and to experience peace.

Contents: Made with love, Purified Water, Witch Hazel, Organic Essential Oils: Bergamot, Geranium, Rose, Ylang Ylang, Roman Chamomile, Neroli and Lavender

~ All 50ml bottles $15 or 100ml bottles $25 ~

Namaste : Amanda

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page